1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BenQ drive replacement

Discussion in 'Gaming Forum' started by Clipse, Feb 10, 2010.

1. Clipse

Clipse mediocrity sucks

Sep 27, 2009
    Roanoke, Virginia
    Anyone know where I can find a tutorial on how to replace a faulty BenQ drive with a new one? Been looking all over. From what I've read you can't just take the DVD drive out and put a new one in, you need to do some flashing. Unfortunately I'm a noob and know nothing about flashing.

2. mor911

mor911 pooping

Nov 25, 2007
    Austin, TX
    With a BenQ it's super simple as long as you have the proper SATA chipset on your motherboard. I bought a $13 PCI card to do it. It's as simple as connecting it and running your favorite Drive hack app into pulling the key. Then flashing it on the new drive. While you're there, you might as well flash it to play backed up games ;)

Clipse likes this.
  3. Clipse

Clipse mediocrity sucks

Sep 27, 2009
    Roanoke, Virginia
    I'd prefer if you spoke to me in English :lol:

How do I know if I have the proper SATA chipset? Drive hack app? Not trying to hack my system, just replace a broken BenQ, with a new BenQ, to fix my open tray error. From what I read the DVD Drive is "married" to my system. What I'm confused about is how to "Marry" my new drive to my system.

4. Clipse

Clipse mediocrity sucks

Sep 27, 2009
    Roanoke, Virginia
    Would it be possible to just take the whole motherboard off my old drive, and install it onto the new drive? Or would it be easier to flash?

5. Clipse

Clipse mediocrity sucks

Sep 27, 2009
    Roanoke, Virginia
    Another thing, the motor next to the laser barely spins at all. Think that may have something to with my open tray error? I'm pretty sure that motor is supposed to spin.

6. mor911

mor911 pooping

Nov 25, 2007
    Austin, TX