1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Business/Tax Write-Off Question

Discussion in 'Questions and Answers' started by slickj101, Jul 16, 2009.

1. slickj101

slickj101 Is Water

Dec 21, 2007
    NY
    As all of you should know bc you read the Business Forum everyday :lol:, I'm in business for myself. Basically, I'm an Independent Contractor.

My job requires me to have a truck to haul my products around. Up until a week ago, I was borrowing my brother's truck. Needless to say, that's no longer an option. So now I'm SOL without a truck.

My question is: Would I be able to purchase a truck and write it off on my taxes as a business expense? I'm not sure how that works, esp with me being an Independent Contractor (no taxes or paperwork).

Just trying to figure out the best approach here.

Thanks in advance.

2. anlgp

anlgp ↑ ↑ ↓ ↓ ← → ← → B A

I think you can but I'm not a tax expert.

My logic is this. Anything you use for your own business should be able to be written off.

slickj101 likes this.
  3. slickj101

slickj101 Is Water

Dec 21, 2007
    NY
    I was thinking that too. But I work as an IC so I don't know if that still applies.

Approx how much I would be getting back on it is also something I'd want to know ahead of time.

4. anlgp

does IC mean you are not registered as a business?

5. slickj101

slickj101 Is Water

Dec 21, 2007
    NY
    Right, which I believe would make me SOL in regards to a write-off.

Idk if I should try to register or if I'm better off staying independent.

6. anlgp

I think you may be right about being SOL in regards to a write off.. but i did find this. might help?

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20071128124632AAoIYIj

slickj101 likes this.
  7. slickj101

slickj101 Is Water

Dec 21, 2007
    NY
    I read that too. I duno if the state laws are different in these areas. But, I'm in NY if it matters.

I think I need to talk to a tax expert.