1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gil Brandt's Top 100

Discussion in 'NFL Draft Forum' started by Da 'Fins, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Da 'Fins

Da 'Fins Season Ticket Holder Staff Member Club Member

Dec 19, 2007
    Birmingham, AL
    FWIW:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000140172/article/2013-nfl-draft-luke-joeckel-geno-smith-among-best-prospects

If either Warmack or Woerner happened to be there at 12 - would be hard to pass up (not just based on Brandt's stuff - but just from what i've seen - though I'm not an expert). Better chance for Warmack b/c he's a guard but to have a guy you can plug in (in a spot that is a weakness) for the next 12-14 years. Hard to pass that up (esp. given not as much strength at other positions).

Would love to be able to trade down a few notches, and still get him, but who knows. Drafts are always crazy.

But, as I look at history, it never ceases to amaze me how teams draft for need and certain other high profile positions in round 1. Then, years later and you look at the guys who hung on and turned out to be great and you wish you had drafted a Hutchinson instead of the OT, WR or QB who fizzled out in 4 years.

If Warmack were there, I just can't see passing up on him in spite of needs at OT, WR, TE, DE/OLB and DB. Hopefully we can address a couple of those in free agency and then land a kid like this in round 1 then go for need positions in rounds 2-3-4. With the extra picks in 2 & 3 that gives us some flexibility.

Here's his take on the first 25 of the 100:

2. CANDolphan

CANDolphan Well-Known Member

Feb 18, 2012
    I typically dislike his player evaluations, but his mock drafts are always so well connected with other GMs and scouts that he's pretty damn accurate with prospect placement.

Da 'Fins likes this.
  3. djphinfan

djphinfan Season Ticket Holder Club Member

Dec 20, 2007