1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Justice Dept okay Sirius-XM Merger

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by azfinfanmang, Mar 24, 2008.

1. azfinfanmang

azfinfanmang Premium Member Luxury Box

Nov 23, 2007
    Okay, so I am BRAND new to the entire SIrius radio thing...Just bought a new car that has it

People with the insight, tell me how this will affect me?

http://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/...tment-gives-siriusxm-merger-ok_530362_15.html

finswin56 likes this.
  2. Samphin

Samphin Κακό σκυλί ψόφο δεν έχει

Its a good thing. ESPECIALLY if you anticipated this all along and scooped up soem sirius stock on the cheap a while back. This merger has been held up in congress for over a year which is ridiculous.

Basically, both of these companies have been losing money, allowing them to merge should help make them profitable fast and make for a better overall experience.

For example, Sirius has exclusive right to the NFL. XM the same for baseball. If you are a sportsnut like me, you had to choose. Now you don't.

Programs like Howard Stern are now available to a wider audience as is Opie and Anthony who were exclusive to their respective satellite companies before, now instantly have a potential audience of about 13 million.

They also, I believe, have an ala cart type programming where if you jsut want the commercial free music, you can pay as little as 5.99 a month as opposed to the 12.99 for the whole package.

The pricing structures will change and most likely go up a lil to get the FULL package, but overall, I think this is a good thing.

azfinfanmang likes this.
  3. phineas64

phineas64 Season Ticket Holder