1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RIP Major Winters

Discussion in 'History Forum' started by RoninFin4, Jan 11, 2011.

1. RoninFin4

RoninFin4 Season Ticket Holder Club Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    This is my first time in the History Forum, gotta say I'm pretty impressed. I'm a major World War II history buff (and all modern combat, especially jet fighters). I have been ever since I used to spend summers at my Grandpa's and we played Carrier Strike and with all of his old counter-surveillance stuff from his days in the Army (between WWII and Korea).

One of the things he'd always done was read books, mostly WWII things as that was the generation he grew up in. Obviously I've taken a liking to it (still working through the "Rise and Fall of the Third Reich").

I'm guessing a lot of people are familiar with the Band of Brothers book by Stephen Ambrose, as well as the DVD series produced by Steven Speilberg and Tom Hanks. I own the series and it's a great one - definitely got me interested in the 101st Airborne and more into WWII.

Just saw on the news and had a buddy text me that Major Richard "Dick" Winters - the leader of Easy Company of the 101st Airborne, famous for holding the town of Bastogne throughout the Battle of the Bulge passed away yesterday. He truly was, in my eyes, a great American war hero.

For anyone interested, here's his website: http://www.majordickwinters.com/

...and a nice article on him: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/obi...my-obituaries/8253502/Major-Dick-Winters.html

2. padre31

padre31 Premium Member Luxury Box

Nov 22, 2007
    inching to 100k posts
    Well he did make it to 92, he had that long and hopefully happy life.

3. RoninFin4

RoninFin4 Season Ticket Holder Club Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Cincinnati, Ohio