1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SF area jobs?

Discussion in 'Jobs Forum' started by daphins, Nov 22, 2008.

Tags:
  1. daphins

daphins A-Style

Mar 22, 2008
    Hey all,

I graduated last may with a degree in Architecture. Needless to say things aren't going to well in the job hunt. I spent some time in Chicago right before the bottom fell out, but failed to scare up a job. I've REALLY wanted to move to SF for years, but haven't been able to get a foot in the door in the area. At this point I've moved back home (the middle of nowhere Iowa) and am getting really nervous about being "trapped" here. I've spoken to a few firms in the SF area and they'll speak to me if I come to town but I haven't gotten any solid leads. There's no jobs for my career here and it seems that I'm just waiting out the economy at this point, but that doesn't do me a whole lot of good. There's nothing in the area that will help me build my resume.

At this point I'm strongly considering just biting the bullet and moving to SF, living in a shack and finding a part time job doing whatever for however long it takes for this to blow over. Per my contacts in SF I don't stand a snowball's chance of getting a job unless I live in the area witih this current economy. They suggest that I just move out and subside while i look for a foot in the door.

Does anyone have any contacts for any job whatsoever in the SF area? It can be Starbucks, a fish market, whatever it takes.

Thanks

2. Samphin

Samphin Κακό σκυλί ψόφο δεν έχει

A lot of firms are laying engineers and profesional designers off right now. I am surprised you are even able to snag an interview. I deal with architects and S.E.s for a living so I will keep my eyes and ears peeled for anything that may come up.

Does it have to be in S.F? Would you entertain offers in the East Bay?

3. Crappy Tipper

Crappy Tipper AKA Hero13

Aug 23, 2008