1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Struggling with bipolar disorder

Discussion in 'Outreach Forum' started by OCDolfan, May 7, 2010.

1. OCDolfan

OCDolfan a.k.a. LostInPatsLand Club Member

Jul 21, 2008
    California
    Hi guys,

I'm a systems bio grad student at UC Irvine. Following the draft with you guys was really fun as it kept me away from my troubles.

I've been struggling since November with mania and depression. I was put on lithium in January, but it slowed me down and I couldn't do the mathematics and compuation needed for quantitative biology. I have been taken off the lithium, but it appears for me that I was taken off too quickly, and I've been having episodic manic behavior this week. I asked my brother to come in, and he's been helpful, but my dad came in tonight, and he is infantilizing. It's hard enough to have episodes that rob you of your humanity. It makes it more difficult when your father is treating you like an infant because you are acutely ill.

I don't know why I'm writing this. I'm just trying to reach out and say hi and let people know that the stuff we talk about on one level is all fun and games, but on another level, it is very helpful for me to connect with people during this difficult time, and I want to thank you guys for this.

Bpk, Celtkin, PhinsFanWife and 2 others like this.
  2. Ohiophinphan

Ohiophinphan Chaplain Staff Member Luxury Box

I am happy to listen and honored you came to us.

Bipolar disorder is a terrible disease and I wish you all the best in its treatment. You sound like a bright fellow and clearly know what to do. As soon as possible you need to return to your doctor and look for a better drug regimen which will control the swing episodes. That will be difficult given the work you do but you have to try.