1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What would you do?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by danmarino, Dec 4, 2017.

1. danmarino

danmarino Tua is H1M! Club Member

Sep 4, 2014
    Some of you know that I work in the medical field and in a cath lab. I have a wife and 5 kids. The youngest being 5 months and the oldest being 8.

Saying that, I love my work. It's exciting and fulfilling. However, my hours are crazy. There are some days that I will work 17-20 hours straight without so much as a break. I'm on call nearly half the time for up to 3-4 days in a row, and it's not uncommon to work 40-50 hours in a weekend.

I've been offered a position at the hospital I work for. Basically, I'd be a provider trainer for our electronic medical record(EMR). What this means is, I would be the person that shows all of the hospital providers how to use and set up the EMR. I would work Mon-Fri, 8am-5pm-ish. No weekends, nights, or holidays. And to top it off I'd get a pay raise. (This last part baffles me to think that I'd get more money when I'm not saving a life. I guess that's the way medicine is going now.)

Anyhow, I'm 43 years old and can't work in the Cath Lab forever...at least not these hours etc. I was a Marine for nearly 10 years, Army Reserve and a fire medic for a few year after that, and now this so I've had my share of adrenaline rushes and excitement, but I'd be lying if I said I don't still enjoy it.

I know my wife and kids would absolutely love me working normal hours. And frankly I would too and the thought of never missing a Christmas again sounds fantastic. The extra money isn't needed per se, but I do have 4 daughters and weddings may put me in the poor house. lol

So, what would you do? Anyone go through something similar before? Any advice?

Thanks for reading all of this...

2. McLovin

McLovin Resident Pats fan.

May 7, 2008
    North Cacalaka