1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What's the Best Way to Get Into the Computer Biz?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by maynard, Nov 10, 2008.

Tags:
  1. maynard

maynard Who, whom?

Dec 5, 2007
    clearwater, fl
    first off, i have no skills or experience and am asking for some first couple of steps advice. i know a lot of guys here do this stuff for a living so i figure this would be the best place to ask

im looking to get into it or a career and am wondering what the best path is in terms of education. i currently have a general studies AA and have done nothing with it lol. there are a lot of options out there. i have seen some certification programs that may be meaningless, associate degrees and then getting a bachelor's...which is likely just an equivalent to the associate's degree and with me already having an AA it seems that 2 associates would equal one bachelor's in the eye of an employer, but i dont know.

it seems that there are two paths, either the IT direction or working with software. i dont really have a preference because i dont know the advantages, disadvantages and difficulties with either path

i have heard that experience is key, but its the old catch 22 of how to get experience if i dont have any skills

so whats the best way to get going on this?

thanks in advance for the help

2. anlgp

anlgp ↑ ↑ ↓ ↓ ← → ← → B A

what do you want to do first off? fix them? deal them?

compTIA has certifications you can get that will help you get a job from what I understand.

3. muscle979

muscle979 Season Ticket Holder

Dec 12, 2007
    Evans, GA
    The military is a great way to get experience and training. Something to consider.

And don't worry, I'm not a recruiter or anything. I'm actually leaving active duty in four months. :)

4. maynard

maynard Who, whom?

Dec 5, 2007
    clearwater, fl